Close
13n

-2°C

Красноярская универсиада 2019 года

2-12 MARCH 2019

  • :
  • :
  • :

Countdown to winter universiade 2019

Laika 90x139
13n
-2°C

Short track speed skating

Sport type logo  dsc5383

Short Track Speed Skating is a form of ice speed skating in which competitors cover the distance of 111,12 meters on an oval track as fast as they can. The competitions are held among women and men racing the distances of 1 500 m, 500 m, 1 000 m and include 3 000 m women’s relay races and 5 000 m men’s relay races.

decoration_leftdecoration_right

Sports Disciplines included into the Winter Universiade 2019

Sport type photo шорт трек 1000 м

1000M SHORT TRACK SPEED SKATING

This skating race is a speed race where endurance is also important. Athletes have time for various tactical manoeuvres. Competitors run 9 laps. There may be more than four athletes on the track at a time.

Men
1000 m
Women
1000 m
Sport type photo ayk 4223

500M SHORT TRACK SPEED SKATING

This skating race demands high speed and strength from athletes to start the race. The athlete's starting position plays a very significant role. Athletes run 4.5 laps. Usually not more than 4 competitors take part in a race.

Men
500 m
Women
500 m
Sport type photo шорт трек 1500 м

1500M SHORT TRACK SPEED SKATING

It is the longest individual distance. Athletes run 13.5 laps. There are usually 6 competitors on the track, but there may be more of them. In contrast to 500m and 1 000m speed skating which both include two semi-final races, the 1 500m speed skating involves three semi-finals: two strongest competitors of each group make it further into the final run "А", whereas those who finished third and fourth go on to the final run "В".

Men
1500 m
Women
1500 m
Sport type photo шорт трек эстафета

SHORT TRACK RELAY RACE

There are usually 4 teams competing in the race. Each team comprises up to 5 racers, but only 4 of them actually take part in the race, the fifth one is a substitute who remains off the ice. Women have to run the distance of 3 000 m (27 laps), and men cover 5 000 m or 45 laps. It is up to each team to decide how many laps will be run by each team member, but in any case every skater has to run at least one lap and the last two laps have to be covered by the same competitor. Skaters pass their turn to the next competitor by giving them a gentle push.

Men
5000 m
Women
3000 m

Facts

In terms of how many medals are competed for, Short Track Speed Skating is one of the most prolific competitions with 8 sets of medals at stake.

A lot of supporters consider Short Track Speed Skating quite a recent sport, which is not true – the first competitions took place as early as back in 1906 in Canada.

In 1988, the Olympic Games featured it as a demonstration event, and since 1992 Short Track Speed Skating has been part of the official programme of the Games.

It was exactly in Short Track Speed Skating that the skater from South Korea Kim Yun-Mi set an astounding record becoming an Olympic champion at 13!

Short Track skates are specifically designed for this sport: the blades are offset to the left from the centre and are also at an angle to the ice. It serves to provide the most efficient angle in relation to the ice and guarantee the highest speed on the curves.

Despite the fact that the competitions are held inside a hockey arena with the dimensions of 30×60 m, the ablest of skaters manage to develop the speed of about 50 km per hour covering 13.9 metres in just 1 second.

The skater's gear is comprised of a special elastic skinsuit with protective cut-resistant neck guards, crotch patches and joint and knee pads. Skaters always wear protective helmets, ankle pads and special cut-resistant gloves. Some athletes also wear protective goggles.

 

History

Sport type photo  dsc6567

Short Track Speed Skating appeared in Russia after our country participated in the World Universiade 1985 in Belluno (Italy). Earlier in 1982, the Ice Skating Federation was closed in Italy. Italian skaters lost their right to participate in ice skating competitions on behalf of their nation, so a decision was made to include a new event in the Universiade programme - Short Track Speed Skating. The USSR received an invitation to build up a team and take part in the competitions. Back in the day people in the Soviet Union had no idea of what this sport was about, so they picked skaters from among students who skated as sprinters. The gear was purchased in Canada.

The Winter Universiade 1985 didn't bring any medals to our national team. However, later in the Universiade Sofia 1989 (Bulgaria) the Russian skater Marina Pylaeva won the silver medal in the 1500m Short Track Speed Skating race. In 1997, the Universiade in Muju (South Korea) brought the Russian skaters two bronze medals, one in the women's 1500m race thanks to the great effort of Elena Tikhanina and the other one in the women's 3000m relay. In 2009, Ruslan Zakharov won the bronze medal in the 1000m race in Harbin (China). The Winter Universiade 2015 that was held in Slovakia and Spain brought the Russian Short Track Team (Dmitry Myasnikov, Kirill Shashin, Eduard Strelkov and Timur Zakharov) the silver medals in the men's 5000m relay.

In Alma-Ata (Kazakhstan) the Russian Short Track Team of Artyom Denisov, Aleksander Koval, Andrey Mikhasyov, Kirill Shashin and Timur Zakharov won another set of siver medals in the men's 5000m relay race.

Totally, the Winter Universiades brought our compatriots three silver and three bronze medals.

The first USSR championship was held in 1988. Most members of the first national Short Track Team of Russia were raised by the Leningrad Short Track Speed Skating School. The first Russian (USSR) medals in Short Track Speed Skating were won in 1991 during the World Championship in Sydney (Australia) when the Soviet skaters Natalya Isakova, Yulia Allagulova, Yulia Vlasova and Marina Pylayeva won the silver medals in the 3000m relay race.

Two Short Track Speed Skating championships are held in Russia annually, an all-round championship and a single distances championship (Olympic disciplines).

It is worth mentioning the triumphant performance of the Russian Short Track Team in the Winter Olympic Games in Sochi when the Team of Viktor An, Semyon Yelistratov, Viktor Grigoryev and Roman Zakharov won the gold medals in the 5000m relay, Viktor An became the gold medallist in 1000m and 500m races, as well as the bronze one in the 1500m race becoming the most awarded skater in this discipline. Viktor Grigoryev won the silver medal in the 1000m race. Now Russian athletes hold leading positions in European and World championships.

The previous Olympic Games brought Semyon Yelistratov the bronze medal in the 1500m Short Track Speed Skating race.


Other sports

Return to Sports

Красноярская универсиада 2019 года

2-12 МАРТА 2019

    • :
    • :
    • :

    ОСТАЛОСЬ ДО ОТКРЫТИЯ ЗИМНЕЙ УНИВЕРСИАДЫ

    04d
    0°C
    Decoration leftDecoration right

    Шорт-трек

    Шорт-трек – это вид скоростного бега на коньках, заключающийся в максимально быстром преодолении соревновательной дистанции по овальной ледовой дорожке. Длина дорожки составляет 111,12 м. Соревнования проводятся среди женщин и мужчин на дистанциях 1 500 м, 500 м, 1 000 м и в эстафете среди женщин на 3 000 м и среди мужчин на 5 000 м.

    Спортивные дисциплины в программе Зимней универсиады-2019

    Sport type photo 18122013 shortmen1500heats ph.giacomellofoto.it 200

    Гонка на 1000 м

    Скоростная дистанция, но важна и выносливость – есть время для применения различных тактических приемов. Спортсмены должны преодолеть 9 кругов. В забеге может участвовать больше четырех спортсменов.

    Men
    1000 м
    Women
    1000 м
    Sport type photo 18122013  short 0 ph.giacomellofoto.it(9)

    Гонка на 500 м

    Гонка на скорость, в которой важны скоростно-силовые качества спортсмена для быстрого старта. Позиция спортсмена на старте имеет существенное значение. Спортсмены преодолевают 4,5 круга. В забеге участвуют, как правило, не более 4 спортсменов.

    Men
    500 м
    Women
    500 м
    Sport type photo 1500 м

    Гонка на 1500 м

    Самая длинная индивидуальная дистанция. Спортсмены преодолевают 13,5 круга. В забегах, как правило, участвуют по 6 спортсменов, но может быть и больше. В отличие от дистанций на 500 м и 1 000 м, где проводятся по два полуфинальных забега, на дистанции 1 500 м проводятся три полуфинальных забега – по два сильнейших спортсмена из каждого забега выходят в финальный забег «А», спортсмены, которые заняли третье и четвертое места, выводятся в финал «В».

    Sport type photo эстаф

    Эстафета

    В забеге, как правило, принимают участие 4 команды. Состав команды не более 5 человек, но в забеге принимают участие 4 спортсмена, пятый – запасной спортсмен, находится вне льда. Женщины должны пробежать 3 000 м (27 кругов), а мужчины 5 000 м – 45 кругов. Каждая команда может сама решать, сколько кругов будет бежать каждый спортсмен, но в любом случае каждый спортсмен должен пробежать не менее 1 круга и последние два круга должен преодолеть один спортсмен. Эстафета между спортсменами передается касанием.

    Men
    5000 м
    Women
    3000 м

    Факты

    Шорт-трек – один из самых медалеёмких олимпийский видов – разыгрывается 8 комплектов медалей.

    Многие болельщики считают, что шорт-трек – молодой вид спорта. Это не так – первые состязания прошли еще в 1906 году в Канаде.

    В 1988 году на Олимпийских играх были проведены показательные забеги, а с 1992 года шорт-трек включили в программу зимних Олимпийских игр.

    Именно в шорт-треке спортсменка из Южной Кореи Ким Юн Ми установила невероятное достижение: стала олимпийской чемпионкой в 13 лет!

    Коньки в шорт-треке специальные – лезвия смещены влево от центра и могут располагаться под углом к плоскости ботинка. Это сделано для того, чтобы угол наклона в повороте был максимально эффективным с целью прохождения поворота на максимальной скорости.

    Несмотря на то что соревнования проводятся в хоккейной коробке размером 30×60 м, сильнейшие спортсмены могут развивать скорость примерно 50 км в час, преодолевая за 1 секунду 13,9 метра.

    В экипировку спортсмена входят специальный комбинезон из эластичного материала с защитными вставками из непрорезаемого материала в области шеи, паха и на изгибах суставов, с мягкой защитой коленей. Спортсмены обязательно выступают в защитных шлемах, используют щитки для защиты голени и специальные перчатки из непрорезаемой ткани. Многие спортсмены выступают в защитных очках.

    История

    Sport type photo 211016 almaty3

    История шорт-трека в России началась с участия нашей страны во Всемирной универсиаде 1985 года в Беллуно (Италия). В 1982 году в Италии была закрыта Федерация конькобежного спорта. Итальянские спортсмены потеряли право представлять свою страну на соревнованиях в конькобежном спорте, поэтому было принято решение включить в программу Универсиады новый вид – дисциплину конькобежного спорта «шорт-трек». В СССР пришло приглашение собрать команду и принять участие в соревнованиях. Тогда в Советском Союзе никто не имел представления об этом виде спорта, поэтому спортсмены были отобраны из числа студентов-конькобежцев со спринтерским уклоном. Спортивный инвентарь закупили в Канаде.

    На Универсиаде 1985 наши спортсмены не показали медальных результатов. Однако уже в 1989 году на Универсиаде в Софии (Болгария) россиянка Марина Пылаева завоевала серебро на дистанции 1 500 м. В 1997 году на Универсиаде в Муджу (Южная Корея) россиянки выиграли две бронзовые медали – на дистанции 1 500 м усилиями Елены Тиханиной и в женской эстафете на 3 000 м. В 2009 году в Харбине (Китай) Руслан Захаров завоевал бронзу на 1 000 м. На зимней Универсиаде 2015 года, которая проходила в Словакии и Испании, сборная России по шорт-треку в составе Дмитрия Мясникова, Кирилла Шашина, Эдуарда Стрелкова и Тимура Захарова завоевала серебряную медаль в мужской эстафете на 5 000 метров.

    В Алма-Ате (Казахстан) сборная России по шорт-треку в составе Артёма Денисова, Александра Коваля, Андрея Михасёва, Кирилла Шашина и Тимура Захарова завоевала серебро в эстафете на 5 000 м.

    На зимних Универсиадах наши соотечественники выиграли три серебряные и три бронзовые награды.

    Первый чемпионат СССР был проведен в 1988 году. Большинство членов первой сборной России по шорт-треку были воспитанниками Ленинградской школы шорт-трека.

    В России ежегодно проводятся два чемпионата по шорт-треку – по многоборью по программе чемпионатов мира и по отдельным дистанциям (олимпийским дисциплинам).

    Следует отметить триумфальное выступление сборной России по шорт-треку на зимних Олимпийских играх в Сочи, когда команда в составе Виктора Ана, Семена Елистратова, Виктора Григорьева и Романа Захарова завоевали золото игр в эстафете на 5 000 м, Виктор Ан завоевал золото на дистанциях 1 000 м, 500 м и бронзу на дистанции 1 500 м, став самым титулованным спортсменом в шорт-треке. Виктор Григорьев завоевал серебро на дистанции 1 000 м. Российские спортсмены прочно удерживают ведущие позиции лидеров на европейских и мировых первенствах.

    На последних зимних Олимпийских играх Семен Елистратов завоевал бронзовую награду на дистанции 1 500 м.

    Первые медали России (СССР) в шорт-треке были получены на чемпионате мира 1991 года в Сиднее (Австралия), где советские спортсменки Наталья Исакова, Юлия Аллагулова, Юлия Власова и Марина Пылаева завоевали серебряные медали в эстафете на 3 000 м.